McCall’s Tunic

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

McCall’s 7251

This tunic took six months to make. See, my sewing room is the basement and the basement is very cold in the winter…so yeah, it took six months to make this. How’s that for time management? I marvel at the contestants on Project Runway. On last night’s final episode they had four days to create an eight piece collection! That’s crazy!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This is the pattern and the version on the right is what I made. There are nice details that you can not see with the pattern of the fabric and they definitely disappear on my black shirt.

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here is the tiny pocket and there are big pockets for your hands which you can see in my other photos. The fabric is from the fall Gertie Collection (Gretchen Hirsch) from Joann Fabrics. I made a size 16 and lengthened it a bit. I would have been fine with a 14 because there is a lot of fabric here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I probably won’t make it again but if I did I would use a solid color and show off the pockets more.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The sleeves can be left down and have a buttoned cuff or you can roll them and keep them in place with a buttoned tab that is sewn on the inside of the sleeve. I’m not in love with this shirt but I am happy to call it finished so I can start something for warmer weather. And it won’t be black! My eyes!

 

2 thoughts on “McCall’s Tunic

  1. Love the tunic, but I see what you mean about the pockets. It’s an interesting detail, but you can’t see it on the print. Can’t wait to see what you make next. You inspire me to want to do fashion sewing again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

