Seamwork Akita

I fell in love with the patterns in the September Seamwork magazine. This is the Akita blouse. I tend to always pick solid colors in clothes because I feel uncomfortable in prints. I loved the colors in this print so I decided to try something different.

The fabric was pretty wide so I folded it differently than is shown in the cutting layout in the hopes of getting a second top out of it.

I fussed too long with getting my fold straight and then realized I could have gotten a few more inches out of it but I didn’t want to do anymore fussing. A smaller person could get another blouse out of it but I don’t think it will be enough for me. If you hadn’t already thought of it and you have wide fabric give it a try.

The sewing instructions have you clip the seam allowances in order to hem the sleeves and create the slits at the side bottom. I was a little worried about doing that so I reinforced the area by sewing a short line of smaller stitches just inside the seam line.

I clipped all the way in once I did that. I’ll sew a shorter line next time I make this because the stitches show on the folded edge of the armhole but with this fabric it is not noticeable.

I cut out a size 12 but cut the neckline along the size 10 lines. I also added a half inch into the neck at the shoulder to avoid having my bra straps hanging out.

I tried it on with a skirt and chain belt to dress it up but I don’t care for my mix with the black skirt.

But it is a great pattern to make with different fabrics for different looks.

I’m really happy with how it turned out. Still uncomfortable with the print though. I hope to make the Moji pants also but I haven’t decided on a fabric yet.

8 thoughts on “Seamwork Akita

    • Thank you, Darlene! I think it was a rayon challis. I bought it at Joann Fabrics. I realized after I left the store that I didn’t check the bolt for care instructions but I think I picked it because it was rayon. I just can’t swear to it. It does have a nice drape and it feels very nice! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

